Hello, all!

Home Forums Introductions Hello, all!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Taylor
    Participant

Hi, everybody!

I’m from south of Pittsburgh in Washington County, and I’ve been playing with Legos for about 15 years, give or take. I have yet to build anything that’s all that impressive, but hey, it’s all relative.

I found your website mostly because I am currently writing an essay on the culture of AFOL’s for a college class, but also because I wanted to get to know some fellow Lego fans.

I look forward to making all of your acquaintances!
    -Andrew Taylor

P.S. For those of you who are interested, I’m conducting interviews to get a better idea of what it means to be an AFOL. Please email me if that’s something you’d like to do.

Matt Redfield
    Keymaster

Welcome, Andrew! Your project has some similarities to Liam’s documentary he’s shooting… what’s your timetable for your interviews / essay? I’m open to an interview, but not sure how my next few weeks will shape up…

Andrew Taylor
    Participant

I’m hoping to have finished with interviews by the end of March, or early April at the latest. My schedule is very open this particular week, but I understand if that’s too short notice. I can also interview you over email, if that would be more preferable.

Greg Schubert
    Participant

Here is a nice easy question to start your interview: “So is it true that AFOL’s are just people who wish that their real life job was more fun and who use their pent-up creative energy to build things out of plastic bricks?”

Josh
    Keymaster

Here is a nice easy question to start your interview: “So is it true that AFOL’s are just people who wish that their real life and / or job was more fun and who use their pent-up creative energy to build things out of plastic bricks?”

This.

Andrew Taylor
    Participant