Hi there!

Home Forums Introductions Hi there!

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Laura
    Participant

Hello, my name’s Laura (if that wasn’t obvious).  I’m a secondary school teacher from Pittsburgh, although I am currently living in Central PA for my job.  I have been a huge LEGO fan since I was 5.  My brother and I bought, begged and bartered for every LEGO set we received as children.  Nowadays it’s not quite that dramatic, but it’s still great fun to just go to the store and stare at the shelves for a few minutes every time I visit.

I have always loved building with LEGOS, and the challenges and rewards building brings.  I love pretty much all LEGO themes although a few stand out, such as Castle, Pirates, Star Wars, & Town.  Lately my focus has been on town and creating LEGO train displays, since I am very interested in trains and (even more so) trolleys.  For the past couple of years I have had the chance to set up my display for a Christmas layout at the Museum where I volunteer and really love having it up for others to look at and enjoy.

I saw AFOL groups’ displays set up at LEGO Kidsfest in 2012 and 2013 and decided I really wanted to join one close to home.  Now that summer is coming and I will be in Pittsburgh, it’s giving me the kick I need to come and say hi.  So Hi!

Josh
    Keymaster

Hi Laura!  welcome, and thanks for introducing yourself!

I’m confused…currently living in central pa, but coming back to pittsburgh for just the summer?  What is it that you do?

If you were at kidsfest, you’ve seen penn lug, and they have a killer train setup.  We’re still figuring out what we all do in steel city lug, but so far, we’re all great individual artists and we’re learning how to play well with one another in the group builds we’ve been doing for the Cranberry library.

Feel free to jump in where you feel comfortable and start leading whatever it is you think others would enjoy!

Laura
    Participant