Sustainability / Ecology Documentary (w/ LEGO and Steel City LUG?!?)

Home Forums LUG discussions Sustainability / Ecology Documentary (w/ LEGO and Steel City LUG?!?)

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Matt Redfield
    Keymaster

So, I attended a panel on ecology on Sunday night, and met one of the panelists, a guy named Mark Dixon. He was in software, then did a documentary called YERT (Your Environmental Road Trip) where he traveled the country interviewing people whose lives were affected by fracking and such. My friend John (another panelist, who manages Garfield Community Farm in the East End,) told him that I’m a LEGO expert, and he suggested possibly working with us at some point. We didn’t flesh that out much right away, but I got his card afterward and we talked a bit more.

He said he’s open to a “just for fun” type project, but that it’d be easier for him to fit into his schedule if there’s money involved and/or if it relates to his environmental activism. I mentioned the Pittsburgh Dad idea that never quite came to fruition. He’s never done stop motion, but was open to trying, for PGH Dad or otherwise. Not sure what sort of projects we might have funds coming in for that would involve movie making, but it’s cool to have that lead, for sure.

He’s working on a documentary about plastics now, so he’s very interested in LEGO’s efforts with sustainable materials (I believe he’d heard about them and brought it up, so I showed him the pics of the prototype bricks from the seminar at The LEGO House last September.)