Building a LEGO Room

Home Forums All Things LEGO! Building a LEGO Room

Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Will McDine
    Participant

Hey Y’all! Hope you’re all hanging in there during this COVID Quarantine we have going on here. While some of you are using this time to get into that back log of sets, sort those ever growing piles of parts, or build the MOCs you haven’t had time for, I am in the process of building something I have never built before: My very own Lego Room.

For years now (since I originally got into the hobby 14 years ago) I have had my LEGO take up space in the Back portion of my parents basement, but now starting in the middle of July, my Bride-to-Be and I will be moving into our first home where she has given me permission to take the smaller spare bedroom to turn into my own little nerd cave.

The room itself is not the biggest, it is appx 12×9′ and has a decent size closet. I have my part organization down for the most part, but what I am really curious of is how do you all store and or display your built sets and MOCs? If you wouldn’t mind sharing some of your experiences, products you liked/disliked, and even your own design or way of doing things in your LEGO room I would love to see or hear about them!

Thanks again in advance! Once we get into the house and I can actually do things in the room I will start to provide pictures of the Progress!

Greg Schubert
    Participant

I think the Brothers Brick has a series on this and I feel like Josh recently posted the video of them going through the basement of LEGO Ambassador / longtime Connecticut LUG member Kevin Hinkley.

Your space will evolve based on what you have, and what your goals are, so I can only offer generalized advice.