Mils Questions

Home Forums All Things LEGO! Mils Questions

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Mac
    Participant

Hello all,

I am relatively new to AFOL. But I am starting to work on some MILS plates. I had a couple questions.

1. Why is the 4×4 plates used on the top rather than something larger like 6×6 or 8×8? Is there some cost reason, or building reason? I was playing around with building a MILS with the random plates I had just to get a feel for the design and notices that mine had some bow in it when I was done. Perhaps using the 4x4s help with this aspect?

2. How do you do a 90 degree train curve when the radius is 40 studs and the standard MILS plate is 32? I saw a video about pinning the track an they were using a 48×48 plate, which seemed to work fine. But what is the best way to do this with a 32×32 MILS plate?

Any advice is appreciated,
    Josh

Benjamin C Good
    Participant

>> 1. Why is the 4×4 plates used on the top rather than something larger like 6×6 or 8×8?

What’s your reference for this? I vaguely remember an old site that had something like that as a sample piece. You should treat it as just that, an old sample piece. There’s no rule that you have to do it that way. You can landscape however you want, and you can support that landscape however you want.

>> But what is the best way to do this with a 32×32 MILS plate?

It’s gonna cover more than one plate. There used to be PennLUG instructions for it, but I can’t find them anymore. I don’t know if we’re using their design or not. The person to ask would be Phil, who’s been in charge of the MILS project for the LUG, I’m not sure I know his userid here though.

Phil Breneman
    Participant

Josh,

I used the instructions at l-guage.org for my personal track. Instructions 005 use a 32×32 in the corner and a 16×32 on either side. It ends up 48×48 with a 16×16 cutout. You might be able to see what they look like in pictures from the fall trolley event.